office politics : grrrrrr - a rant

P

Im a 2nd yr PhD student and am the only registered student in the unit. As there is a shortage of desk space in the unit, a member of staff decided to move into my office. Whilst I was doing fieldwork, for the project shes managing (ie non phd project) shes taken upon herself to move my desk which was by the window, boxed up all my folders and books, and decided to move her desk by the window, meanwhile my new position is close to the door. I remember her saying something about not wanting to be near the door. I was not consulted at all, and was upset that I wasnt given the choice. I felt there was the assumption that 'shes only a student, it doesnt matter'. I ended up writing a formal compliant and discussed this with the director.

Would you feel annoyed at this? I was in that office for over 6 mts and feel that although I was on fieldwork, someone could have left me a message! I'm now wondering whether I should have bothered!

K

absolutely you should have bothered! I would have been hopping mad!!
It's not just about the inconvenience issue and downright rudeness at them not consulting you...

What about handling other people's material? you might have sensitive/important information, and by boxing it up/moving it, surely it is in breach of the university's ethical standards of inforation handling? I'm assuming she has nothing to do with your project, so therefore she has no right to handle your materials/equipment. If you were required to move, you should have been notified first, if only to for this issue. Common courtesy is another matter entirely, and sadly lacking on some academic staff,

O