Overseas conferences - when to use available funding (AHRC)

M

I'm an AHRC funded Classics PhD in my first year. I've just had my first paper accepted by the Classical Association of South Africa for their annual conference. Whilst CASA isn't the most prestigious place in the world, it's still really good to have had the offer of giving a paper at an international conference at this stage. I don't unfortunately know who else will be there, other than the key note speakers who are international names although not ones I'm overly familiar with. However, although I can manage the conference fees etc, the real issue is the flights which are about £500+.

As an AHRC student I can apply to them for up to £350 once in my 3 years which is probably the most I can get from anywhere. My department does offer grants but I've been told they're likely to contribute less than this. However, my supervisor has said she thinks I should "save" this for the future. I'm a bit concerned that while I understand this point - what if I get a paper accepted somewhere really good eg. in America in the next two years and then can't go! - I won't be able to go this time if I have to shell out that sort of money myself...

Anyone got any advice?!

B

Hi Meg. Well done for having your paper accepted. On the basis of the way that my research has developed over the years (I'm in my fourth year; full-time) I would save the AHRC money for a future conference and perhaps give this one a miss or explore other funding possibilities. It would be a shame if you couldn't get to a high-profile conference in the future (by which time your research will have inevitably progressed and you'll have a more advanced contribution to make) because you don't have funding.

Also remember that the AHRC's £350 contribution isn't guranteed and you still have to write an application, supported by your supervisor, so if he/she isn't 100% on your side you might not necessarily get the funding anyway.