overseas student apply PhD with my own project or available funded project?

I

Hello, I am an overseas student and I am now applying PhD in the UK. I graduated with MSc Marine Engineering (Distinction for both dissertation and overall) from Newcastle University. I got BEng in Marine Engineering from my country with GPA 3.2/4.0 (quite low, but it is the second highest of the class, the highest is 3.3/4.0). In my MSc course at Newcastle, I also studied the preliminary year programme in the first year which is equivalent to the final year of undergrad degree and I got 71%. I also have 2 year work experience as a marine engineer onboard ship.

It has been 2 months that I emailed to potential supervisors (around 12 Uni) who have the same research interests as me,but only one replied that my proposal was interesting but no funding offer. I searched for available funded projects, but most of them for UK/EU and have very few projects that match my area of focus. I think, the problem is that my MSc dissertation focuses on electrical systems (Electric ship), while the nature of Marine Engineering is Mechanical Engineering. If it is that case, I will have problems to apply PhD everywhere as my focus area is always in the department of electrical engineering in every university I applied. I also emailed to some supervisors in Europe, but still got no reply.

From this situation, is it possible for me do PhD with my own project and get funding? or I should apply available funded project which I think very hard for overseas students like me.

Thank you very much.

T

It's very difficult to get funding for PhDs in the UK unless you are a UK/EU student.

Pretty much the only way is to apply to funded programmes that states worldwide applications are accepted.

The problem is likely not so much with your project, but just that universities don't have funding for you.