P/T PhD in a Molecular biology/Genetics based project

M

======= Date Modified 07 41 2008 15:41:00 =======
Is this possible?

I'm currently working as an Account Manager for a company that specilises in providing Molecular Biology and Protein analysis research tools (i.e viral gene expression vectors, PCR enzymes, Cloning systems). I guess my job can be best described as sales, but I am in no pressure to sell, I mostly have to visit various researchers in London finding out about their research and then discussing technologies that we have that could help them. If they are interested, I pass them to the sales rep who discuss price. My job does involve a lot of lab based trouble shooting and a very broad knowledge of molecular biology since I need to answer very tough technical questions put forward by researchers in person.

I kind of fell into this job by accident. I have a BSc in Genetics and a MSc in Forensic Science. I worked in R&D for a Forensic DNA analysis company for 3 years and then 1 year a research assistant for a Molecular Biology Dept in Oxford NHS. As you can imagine, it was very low paid. I started looking for a way out since I wanted to earn more money, since I was getting married and wanted a better more secure job. I sent my CV to various job sites. I was contacted by a recruitment agent, who got me my current job. I stood out from all other candidates since in addition to by lab experience I also had experience in sales since I worked p/t in telesales when i was a student.

I enjoy my current job very much. It is very well paid and I can see my self spend the rest of my career with them. However to progress to the higher positions, I believe a PhD would help me. All the top bosses in my company have PhD.