Pets and working....

M

Apologies as this post is slightly off topic....and a bit embarrassing

I am currently a PhD student and are going on a 'work experience' placement. Upon arranging the placement I was given an official contract 8:30-5 pm, which is no problem.

My new boss asked for a meeting outside of those hours, at 8 am. However, I would be unable to make it as I have a puppy who goes to daycare whilst I am working (the centre opens at 7:30 and I would be pushing it in heavy traffic to make 8 am). I also need to collect her before it closes at 6 pm, hence 8:30/9-5 works well.
I've managed to make arrangements so I am now available for 8 am, but this is nothing something I could guarantee each time.

This has brought up a number of issues, obviously, I feel like an idiot, 'sorry I can't make 8 am, I have to drop my dog off at daycare'. This sort of thing seems acceptable for kids but not dogs...

Does anyone have any advice for this sort of issue? I will be writing up and finishing my PhD shortly after my placement, and I will be looking for a 9-5 job, but I am left wondering what happens if my current placement and future boss ask me to work overtime and I can't because of my dog....

Thanks!

Note: there are a few instances where I can get help with the dog, but the majority of the time I am the only one available for pick up and drop off.

C

I have a chronically unwell pet whose needs dictate when I can leave the house, and I have found everyone to be very accommodating of this so far (and if they weren't, it would be too bad, as I can only do what I can do!). I guess you can give as much or as little information as you feel comfortable with when explaining why you can't do overtime etc - it's perfectly reasonable just to say you can't as you have other commitments.

T