PhD admissions - please advise..

H

I am currently a 3rd year undergrad student. I have been accepted to do a PGCE and also 2 masters which i have deferred until completion of the PGCE - my uncertainty is..im kinda border line 2:2 / 2:1 - what is the liklihood i can do a PhD if i achieve a 2:" at undergrad level even with a PGCE and MA /MSc on top.

B

I got accepted to do a PhD at one of the most prestigious unis in the country, with a 2.1 (undergrad) and a 1st (masters). If you're going on to do an MA, much of it will hang on your MA results really. I wouldn't suggest going straight from an undergrad to a PhD, though I know it happens often. The reason is that it can be quite a drastic leap for those who have never written an extensive piece of work, whilst doing an MA you will have completed a thesis of considerable size, which will prepare you more for the demands of the PhD.

B

Are you intending to remain in academia and become a lecturer? The reason I am asking is because it may be a waste of your time doing a PGCE. During your PhD, you will have opportunities to take accredited teaching courses which prep you to teach at uni level. It seems like quite a long road, PGCE then MA then PhD.

G

Might be easier to do a 7307 part-time/evenings?

H

It would be useful to know why you want to do a PGCE and two masters before the PhD.

G

I read the master's bit as one from (a choice of) two.

H

I want to do reserach areas.. i am actualy not planning to do both master's i will do one of the 2. I was lead to believe as i want to work with the education field i need to have teaching experience/qualification hence the PGCE

I was planning to do post grad study before applying for a PhD - would a 2:2 prevent me doing a PhD even with a masters aswell?

G

Re the PGCE there are a variety of other options, as in the aforementioned C&G.

H

what do you mean by C & G?

G