Phd and marriage

M

A little help please, is it possible to be a full time Phd student and still be married (plus a kid)? Can this be done? and how? how do you have time for studying and also the family? please I’d appreciate some help here.

S

Hi
My Husband is a full time PhD Student. we got married in his first year, he is now coming to the end of his first year.
I think as long as your partner understand your commitment and you both find time for each other it can work!
My Husband treats his PhD as a 9-5 job so we get evenings together. Its important to remember that a PhD isn't forever!!

A

Yes it's possible; you have to multi-task so it helps if you're a woman ;-).

Sometimes it works, sometimes not but it's not impossible. I'm married with four children, a hubby and a dog and I'm on the home strait now - yippee

M

Thank you for the reply, very motivating! I'm currently a masters student and will finish next year and also a full time employee. It been difficult for my family to adapt to me studying and keeping the family together, but after 1 year I think that I managed to organize myself better. But right now we are at a turmoil, since I have plans to start my Phd as a full time student (to finish faster) in another state and not working in my current job any more. So is it possible to be married with family and still have a decent income as a full time Phd student? My wife thinks that going for a Phd while already having established a house and an income would be just going backwards instead of forwards. Has anyone been in this time of situation before? Help please.

R