PhD application - the more they background check you, the higher chance of accepting?

D

Hey, I'm new here and right now I'm suffering from the agony of waiting for the interview result..

I'm a Chinese national and I completed my Master's in the Netherlands. Luckily I came across this PhD position which is at the exact same chair group where I did my master's thesis. So before the interview, the potential supervisors asked around about me in the Chair group and I was told by my previous master thesis supervisor and 2 friends there that the feedback from everyone was generally positive. The potential supervisors even knew that I have a Dutch boyfriend (which is important because the experiments of this project have to be done in Ireland, and they have concerns whether I am willing to go and be separated from my bf for a while). Other things people in the Chair group told them are: I'm intelligent but a little bit shy (I was surprised during the interview that they honestly told me that they asked around about me lol)

My background fits this position 80% I would say, and according to my "spies" in the chair group, seems like they don't really have a better candidate than me (not 100% sure). I answered the technical questions well during the interview and the interview went almost 1 hr. The only concerns of them that I can think of are:1. my introverted personality, which they said in the interview that it's totally ok but I have to pay attention to the communication. 2. If i'm willing to spend some time in Ireland. For this I sent an email 3 days after the interview, saying that I had a family meeting and I have their full support regarding going to Ireland.

Today it's officially a week after the interview and I haven't heard anything back (I know it's normal for even longer waiting time). I went from super positive about this position to start being paranoid what could possibly go wrong... any insights here? Big thanks in advance!!