PhD funding confusion

T

Hi everyone!

Just wondering- i have a PhD interview next week- what questions in terms of funding, should I ask? I'm still not sure what all the costs involving a PhD are, but this particular one is funded. This is what information about funding i have been given:
'...studentship includes an annual tax-free stipend of approx. £15,863 (2014/15 rate) plus university fees at the EU/UK rate.'

Without sounding stupid...does that mean everything is covered or is there stuff i should be worrying about?:S

Please help!!!!

Hi Thedrosophilist,

as I understand it, you won't have to pay any school fees, and on top of it you'll get money to support your life costs (the tax-free stipend). That's very good!!

If there are other large costs involved, it will depend on the nature of your project and what you've planned for dissemination (software, devices, lab instruments, participants' payment? And then conference fees and travel costs related to the project - for conferences or to run exps, interviews, field trips, etc.).

Good luck with your interview!

xx W

T

Quote From wanderingbit:
Hi Thedrosophilist,

as I understand it, you won't have to pay any school fees, and on top of it you'll get money to support your life costs (the tax-free stipend). That's very good!!

If there are other large costs involved, it will depend on the nature of your project and what you've planned for dissemination (software, devices, lab instruments, participants' payment? And then conference fees and travel costs related to the project - for conferences or to run exps, interviews, field trips, etc.).

Good luck with your interview!

xx W