PhD in a foreign language

S

Hi everybody, this is my first thread message as one week ago I was offered a place to do a PhD!-I will commence it in September. The application process was quite long and hard, but it was finally worth-it !I'm moving from Italy to UK so I will completely change my life!I was wondering if there's somebody else who is doing a PhD/will do it in a foreign language, which implies to reorganise linguistic habits, using different concepts, develop new oral skills and learn to write academic english.
How do you cope with that? Some useful and practice tips- apart from BBC Learning English and speaking, listening, thinking, writing English night-and-day?????!!!
Thank you very much! ,-)

E

Well, I am Greek and I am doing a PhD in UK. I think that the best thing (although not the easiest one) is to try to think in English!!!! Forget your language, watch TV, listen to radio, read books (outside your PhD), meet people and start conversations. All in English!!!
As far as academic English.....read a lot of papers in your field and it will come naturaly.
I hope I've helped a little
;-)

R

Hi Silvietta,

recognise the feeling. I agree with all the things Emakki and yourself already said.

For me it was also very useful to have a native speaker read my writings and having explained the errors. This really improved my writing skills. Often it is the "nittygritty" which is the most difficult, which one can only learn by being corrected by a "local".

Kind regards,

Rick:-)

T

Ciao Silvietta!
I am English and am doing my PhD in England but I am doing my data collection in Italy where I live most of the time. I know that at my university there is a lot of help for foreign students - courses, tutors to help with writing skills etc. I started my PhD after ten years of work and was really out of the habit of writing academically. I have found that reading lots of academic articles helps you to get into the way of writing better essays too. Good luck!

M