PHD in ecology

C

Hello,

I'm looking into doing an MSc or MRes in conservation and biodiversity (I've already been accepted) but I'm wondering if going straight into a PHd is a better option. I want a career in wildlife conservation and/or some sort of ecological research. I'm just wondering if I'm likely to get one not having a particularly relevant background (I have a BSc in Biomedicine and a little conservation voluntary experience).

My plan was do the masters and then consider a Phd but if I could get onto a Phd without the masters that may be a better option.

Does anyone have any knowledge in this area who may be able to offer some advice?

Thank you very much in advance for any advice you can offer,
Chris

A

I'd say do the masters first and gain loads of experience in different fields before doing the PhD. In ecology it's just as much about who you know and how many different things you can do as much as your qualifications, and doing a masters will help with this. And a massive help for a career in wildlife conservation is doing some volunteer work with the RSPB, local Wildlife Trust or something like that. It's looks great on CV and ecological-types love to see that you really are keen enough to volunteer. Ecology work tends to be more like a vocation than anything else :)

C

Hello Chris,