PhD is a disaster, what should i do??

K

I'm a PhD student meant to submit in 3 months but i don't have enough data. Up until very recently, getting an extension to candidature wasn't a problem but now it's almost impossible I've been told. So now I'm faced with either taking a 6 month leave of absence (no money) to buy myself another 6 months or just dropping out. I don't have enough for a masters. If I dropped out I'd be so embarrassed and my mental health would get even worse. I've spent nearly 4 years and will have gotten nothing out of it so I'm really devastated and feel like a complete failure

T

If you have a valid reason, the uni normally would not reject your application. Just try applying and see how it goes.

Regarding generation of data, could you speak to your supervisor to see if there is anything he/she can do?Perhaps ask for the help of another student or technician or postdoc during these critical times? My concern though is that you are saying that you have insufficient data to even qualify for a masters at this very late stage. Do you know that you can have an entire chapter on method if you are establishing or optimizing a method? Try to talk to your supervisor or an experienced researcher to see what else could be used in your thesis. You may have more than you think.

If you do not get your 6 months extension, just submit your work as a PhD anyway. That way, no matter what happens, you will still leave with at least a masters.

Chin up and march on. Don't give up.

T

Yes, don't give up. How are you getting on now? You will come away with something, not nothing. You are not a failure. Have you decided what to do?

Best
Tudor

E