PhD issue in the final year

S

I am currently in my third year (with funding going to be over by this month). Based on my assignment, I believe that I had been selected for my PhD funding (in the year 2009) for some software verification. In the first year, I was working with a postdoc 'X' and it has worked fine. Again, in the second year I was working with a new postdoc 'Y' (this guy was working on some software release which he did not release until he resigned just 5-6 months back). This new postdoc guy was working on this software (some enhancement over some previous guy's 'Z' work over 15 years) from last two years during his postdoc. The software designed by 'Z' was never validated against any experimental result, nor any commercial software (there are already existing software in the market but are very costly and hence univ. has never purchased these, these commercial software are never available in free manner). Hence in the last 3-4 months back, the software designed by 'Y' (which is based on some previous guy's 'Z' work) was never validated and released for my PhD. I am having my tough time, validating the work done by 'Y' (which never works) which is again based on the work done by 'Z' (which also did not work, somebody in my deptt. had provided the feedback as rubbish software, ever released in the univ.). The result generated by the developed software provides an altogether different result than the experimental result (this included some hardware design and experimental setup), commercial available software (having worked with some of these companies, I have still license left with me and hence I am able to validate).