PhD issues? should i quit or endure?

J

hi all
i am a third year PhD student in engineering. i came in north america from Europe 3 years ago with very high expectations. the research i work on is multidisciplinary but my supervisor is primarily an engineer.

my experience was limited in the topic when i came in and fully trusted my supervisor as to in which directions to get started. i was asked to do some modeling for the first 2 years and it was "needed" "highly relevant" and "will be my first paperS". i worked hard and i have been really succesfull at doing what i was asked and even more.
the paper got rejected 2 times with the kind of reviews i wish no one here will ever have. starting then my motivation went downhill and i have been questioning a lot of things.

first the huge gap between my supervisor beliefs and other people. i assumed he knew what he was doing but he obvisouly did not.

now my knowledge in the project is such that i question the relevance of everything i was asked to do for the first 2 years. i see a lot of non sense, a complete lack of scientific reasoning and if i was to review my paper i would refuse it too cause a lot of it is pointless or does not make sense. same for the upcoming part of the project.

now i am in the lab preparing experiments supposed to use / confirm the model. i realize that some things cant be answered, and that there are several huge technical challenges to get these things started. i am not saying this is not doable, but what is sure is that losing 2 years is probably putting me now in a non return point: i wont have enough time to work on all of these challenges to make this working and do something interesting with it.

some equipment needed for my project is still not ready. my supervisor has kept on saying for 2 years that it will be done soon and i am still waiting.