PhD issues

G

Hi everyone

I am a second year PhDs student, recently I have become very down, I try and avoid social situations, for example I will chat to the guy on the desk next to me, but when everyone goes to the bar on a Friday I only stay for maybe 30 mins then make up an excuse to leave. My friends will sometimes call me and I will let it go to answer phone then come up with an excuse why I can't talk. I live in a house where I have two housemates, I mostly just spend time in my room alone, I eat alone, watch tv alone etc.. Recently I have begun working later and later as I feel I am not doing enough.

I always do extra at uni, ie. Showing guest lecturers around, out reach activities at weekends etc. but when it comes to my personal life I'm struggling with social interaction.

Does anyone have any suggestions with what's wrong with me or is there anything I can do?

I

Dear Giddypig,
There's nothing wrong with you. I know this from experience- I don't have that many friends even now, and when I was working before my PhD in the private sector I had zero social life and zero friends, and would never even go out with my colleagues. Having personal issues that crippled my self-esteem didn't help. Here are a few suggestions:
1. Figure out concretely why you are "very down", since that seems to be the reason why you avoid social situations. When I started my PhD, I did a list of all the things I hated about myself (physically, psychologically, etc…) and used the 3-4 year opportunity to do the PhD and address these problems. You need to figure out why you are unhappy with yourself- the reason why you avoid ppl is because you are insecure about yourself and don't want ppl to find that out; that was the case with me.