PhD or work?

H

Hi everyone!

I'm a engineering graduate looking for suggestions by more experienced people.
In practice, my doubt is: how good is having a PhD for an industrial career? I have been proposed a PhD with scholarship payed by a company, but i also have some very nice job offers who pay much more, thus I don't know what choice I should make.
Is it very good to have a PhD in the job market? Or three years of experience are much more worthy?
Thanks for all the help you can give, and the experience you can share!

Cheers, Lucas.

D

Hi Lucas!

I had been working as an engineer for 5 years prior to starting my EngD. In industry I got much more money than I get now or I will ever get from research and academia. However, money was never my main motivation but personal fulfillment and improvement. Maybe you want to gain some work experience first before chasing a PhD? Think what would give you a better quality of life.

Good luck with whatever you decide!

A

Hi Lucas, I'm not an engineering person at all, but I would say unless you 'need' a phd for what you want to do, or you have the luxury of being able to take your time doing it and are ok with the smaller wage and know you'll still be able to get a decent job after, then don't do one. The applicability of a PhD in the job market is very variable depending on what your field is, so you should check first perhaps and see if it is beneficial in your field or if it will help you with promotions etc down the line, and then decide on that. Unless you have a plan for a project that is burning a hole inside your brain and you absolutely must do research for the sheer love of it.

C