PhD Part time and paid - to good to be true?

D

Hi,

I've worked in industry for over ten years and I'm seriously considering starting a PhD.

But, I'm particualry interested in how part-time paid PhD's can work . . .

I've seen an advert for a one in a department/institution I really rate. Presumably everyone wants to be paid while they study?

My understanding is that it's a full time job for two years. Dividing your time between teaching and research, both are paid roles. You also register for a part-time PhD programme and the fees for that are paid and you get a stipend.

After the 2 years you may get taken on but you obviously still have the PhD to finish which I believe could be done in 4.

I'm new to this but, it seems too good to be true - or am I missing something?

I'd be interested in feedback from anyone who has embarked of a PhD structured like this and how they juggle it?
Thanks

C

Hi, What exactly does the advert you have seen say - does it explicitly state that it is a part-time and funded position?

To answer you wider question, the honest answer is that you will find as many different models / approaches to the PhD as there are people on this forum - no doubt others will add another perspective. For what it is worth, this is my take....

Many of the time scales / funding / opportunities that you identify are common but it is very rare to see them all in one package. At my institution a full-time student is expected to complete in 4 years and part-time student in 8. As with all things, I know full-timers who treat it as a part-time project and part-timers that put the full-time guys to shame - but we have minimum and maximum registration periods at some stages and it would be difficult for a student registered part-time to submit in 4 years.