phd students in virology

R

if n e one out there is doin a phd in virology could u plz give me an idea of what it is like. thanks

H

A few of my friends are doing a PhD in virology. What do you want to know?

R

hi heather, thanks 4 ur reply. i just want to know what to expect basically about doin a phd in virology, what it entails, and what made them do it really and stuff like that. thanks

T

Its not exactly the same but my PhD is in bacteriology so its on a par with virology.. I have just started so at the moment I am just going through training in various molecular techniques and generally getting to grips with lab work again. I am also doing alot of reading to see what is going on and what has been done in my area of research so that I can formulate some ideas so I don't look retarded when I have my supervisory meetings

Why bacteriology? Well I have a degree in vet science and have an interest in disease, and when I was at uni I enjoyed infectious diseases and wanted to get involved in researching pathogenesis of disease and that sort of thing.. It was a toss up between bacteria or viruses and I decided on bacteria simply because I liked this particular project and I get to play with chickens which are cool :o)

Hope that answers some of your questions.

H