PhD Supervisor Woe - Strange Circumstances

T

I work as an academic member of staff in a University but don't yet have a PhD. Work are happy to pay for the tuition as long as I come up with a reasonable proposal that a). adds to my work and enhances the school and b). contributes to my development. One of my colleagues said he would be happy to supervise me and said we should get together. He's a very busy person, undoubtedly, but he is NOT responding to my emails. He says hi and smiles in the corridor when I've seen him (I've been chatting with students and other members of staff so couldn't collar him) but he doesn't say anything. Since April, I have sent him three emails asking for a quick chat (I'll buy coffee) and each one has been ignored. When I told him I was interested in doing the doctorate he volunteered his support via email and said how interesting it sounded.

If he's changed his mind, that's his prerogative (it will be a pain for me as he's the only one doing this), but as a colleague, I would appreciate a brief email saying thanks but no thanks at the very least so I can reconsider doing the PhD or try to find another topic which interests me within the confines that have been put on me topic-wise.

The opportunity to do a PhD means a lot to me but he's really holding things up and I am still at the proposal stage. I feel really down about this situation and just don't know where to go from here.

Any advice would be much appreciated and I would be interested in anyone who has done a PhD with a colleague as your supervisor and how it changed the nature of your relationship.

With many thanks.

A

I don't have experience with a similar situation but with regards to his non-response to your emails, is there any way of cornering him by going to his office, for example? If you're struggling to communicate with him now can you imagine what it'll be like if you start working for him as a PhD student?