PhD to MPhil/MA

A

Hiya. I'm a current PhD student and have been doing my thesis on and off since 2000. Even though i' m doing corrections at the moment, it's taking forever and my supervisor, who previously told me i would be ready to submit in March has now pushed the date back even further. It just feels like i will never finish. This is my second supervisor, the first one left after i began my studies and i was left for a year on my own and the second supervisor was appointed as he had a slight knowledge of my subject area. I was his first PhD student. Anyway, I've lost all confidence in myself and i feel like he has o confidence in me. I started the PhD as a very young and naive 20 year old and feel like my whole life has been on hold ever since. I don't want a career in a university and am beginning to think of turning in an MPhil/MA instead. I'm not sure if this is allowed...does anyone know please? :-(

L

Dear AingealNic,

I know someone else in your situation - working on his PhD since 1997. I am sure that you must have acquired a good knowledge of your field by now, may be better than your supervisor.

Try to establish regular contact with your new supervisor as he may think that you are no more interested in submitting your PhD after so many years.

Let him know that you are still working on it and that you want to submit it. I'm sure he'll help you to the best of his ability. Sometimes being the first supervisee is a good thing as the supervisor strives his best to show his abilities in this particular academic work.

I have two supervisors - I am not doing my PhD in the UK - one a Professor and the other one, a new PhD. I must admit that although the Professor gave me good directions for the thesis, the second supervisor gave me practical advise during my research (for my thesis) that were extremely beneficial.

In sum, don't give up. Try to connect with your supervisor to get advice and get it done.

A