PhD to MSc/MPhil?

T

======= Date Modified 25 39 2008 15:39:11 =======
Hi,

I am an international student who's applying for a Ph.D to some UK and Australian universities. I've already applied to Monash university, Australia and have received information that I have been offered a full scholarship. My background is a B.Sc with Honours, but no Master's degree.

My question is this: initially I liked the idea that the Ph.D program at UK and Australian universities would be 3 years as opposed to the 6 years in US and Canada, but now I'm beginning to worry a bit about the massive learning curve I would face by going directly for a Ph.D at either UK or Australia. Also, I would have very little room to change the direction of my research if I felt like I would enjoy researching a different area from the one I started with.

If I face such a situation, would it be possible for me to terminate the Ph.D halfway through and obtain an M.Sc or an M.Phil instead? And if I do so, would it reduce my chances to get admission for a Ph.D at a later time? Would ending a Ph.D program in such a way make it likely to end the relationship with the supervisor in a negative way such that I wouldn't be able to obtain a recommendation later?

S

I am not aware of the Australian rules. I can only advise you as a British citizen who has done a PhD in Britain, and am now working in the US so I know some of their PhD rules. Also my background is science, so their may be some differences if you are in a different field

Obviously in the UK you would require to get funding whether it be through the university, most assign a number of students a year and these are not based on your nationality (I believe) or independant funding board. In the US you would have to be admitted to a PhD programme which would fund you.