PhD vs. Relationships

P

Hi,
I'm new to this forum, and I chanced upon it while surfing Google for "PhD breaks relationships".

I'm doing a PhD in my hometown, and I live with my family. For the last few years that I've been in the program, I've felt like I had to make a choice between one or the other. It seems that doing the PhD well requires ALL my time, and professors have been telling me that I need to put in 130% of my effort and work 10 hrs a day, 6 days a week.

P

Lately, my bf has been requiring a lot more of my time - on the phone, hanging out, going on holidays, and because I'm so attached to him, I say yes all the time. He seems to have gotten used to that, but I was really worried for my work and the semester has begun (which means more teaching, grading, research responsibilities) so I did mention to him that I needed a little more time to do my work.

A senior returned from Canada last week and we had a pre-arranged dinner for her to meet with a bunch of other classmates. Unfortunately, my bf asked me out on the same day for dinner and when I said I couldn't, he got mad at me, and now is saying that he's busy whenever I smsed him, and he refused to answer any of my calls. I'm wondering if I did something wrong by rejecting him that day, but I did honestly have a prior appointment...

P

My grandma too is complaining that I don't talk to her these days (she sleeps with me and I work in my bedroom so when I'm on the computer doing my work, I either get really engrossed in my work or I can't concentrate because she's talking to me all the time).

I'm seriously wondering right now if pursuing a PhD is the right move when it seems to be interfering with my relationships with people. Am I just a terrible time and relationship manager? How do you folks cope?

C