plan to quit. how to look for a job?

A

Hi,

I have a similar story as of others in this post. I am 1 year into the program. I opted for a phd as I did not have a job after graduating (given the economic condition in 2009 I thought I wont get a job for sometime) and I did not want to sit at home. Yeah I guess 2 wrong reasons to do a phd. I know I can do this phd, but I am not motivated. I am not passionate about it, and what ever little interest I had has nearly vanished.

The thought of quitting has crossed my mind a zillion times. There are times when I want to play it safe: get a job and then quit and other times I dont care: I just want to quit and then look for a job.
I dont know what I want from life but I definitely know what I don't want - doing phd. I am sure I want to quit. But I dont know how to look for a job. What do I write in the CV? Should I mention the fact that I am currently studying and want to quit and work. Or should I hide this information. What should I say in the interview?

Please help...
thank you

W

Have you done enough work to write up as a Masters so that you have something to show for it? As regards what to say and put in your CV, this has been covered quite extensively in the past on this forum. I'd recommend doing a search.
This might be counter to the advice of other and admittedly far wiser people on this forum, but I wouldn't put that you've quit in your CV. I only say this because at the moment there's something like 50+ graduates applying for every graduate level position. If a prospective employer sees that in your CV, without having spoken to you personally about the circumstances behind your decision to leave, he may think you a quitter and put you on the reject pile. You could mention that you are currently studying but are seeking an employment opportunity. This way you stand a better chance of getting an interview. In the interview you can then give your reasons for actually wanting to work instead of study.

Good luck.