Politics at work

J

======= Date Modified 28 Aug 2011 17:23:15 =======
As a naive PhD student I thought my work would mainly be about the subject matter and contents. It turns out to be more about egos, reputations, gangs, and corruption. I have never been good at work politics. My supervisor is only politics. He will change his mind mid-way a conversation if someone he thinks is important has the opposite view of him (without any argumentation given). He will gang up with colleagues he finds important and support gossip and destruction of the reputation of innocent and hard working people. This just to be part of the 'in-group'. Have I ended up with the most awful supervisor in the world? Someone unable to be neutral? Unable to think independently for himself? When I suggested a colleague of him also have joint supervision I was met with a fist- threatened to be fired. I was told that I needed to change... and that was that.
As time progresses I'm learning more and more to play the game. I'm going more and more 'around him'. I'm trying to find supervision and guidance from others. I'm trying to work with people in the field that he finds important -this forces my supervisor to go along with it, instead of blocking the subject.
But I'm still finding it all so hard. Is this part of the learning experience of being a PhD student?

C

I find a lot of similarities with my past situation. Now, luckily I am out of it, as I passed my viva with minor corrections, and hopefully this is it. Nonetheless, it's a situation in which the student can never win. We will need references later, and where else are we going to look for them?

I had to learn to step back, look for help and support elsewhere - although very cautiously - and kept my mouth sealed, whatever happened. I am pretty sure that I wouldn't have been able to get to the end otherwise.