Possible to tailor an MSc dissertation for continuation in a PhD?

T

Hi all

I have a fairly specific idea of the subject I want to do a PhD in, and I am all done in my MSc other than my dissertation. Is it possible to shape the MSc dissertation to make the PhD easier?

For example the majority of my PhD earning friends explained that they had a few false starts to their PhDs and had to revise the subject and start again. Is it possible to do a MSc dissertation that helps preclude this possibility?

In case it is relevant, my course is International Development and my interests are conflict and post-conflict reconciliation, and specifically, incorporating psychology into interventions, (I have some relevant ideas, contacts, experience and qualifications).

Thanks for any time and comments,
Chris

D

Hey Chris,

I did my MSc thesis on the one the topic that I went on to develop into a PhD, and it was immensely helpful. A lot of my PhD friends spent a good few months reading etc before they did anything (there topics were quite new to them), I was able to run straight into my research, the MSc served as a massive literature review and a sort of proof of concept opportunity. (In fact my BSc project lead into my MSc thesis, so I have been doing the very same type of stuff for nearly 7 years, and I am only just finishing a 3 year PhD...).

W

T

======= Date Modified 01 Oct 2009 23:39:09 =======
Thanks very much W!

In your MSc, did you study one aspect of your PhD in depth, or did you study the same breadth of your PhD to a shallower depth? (And would you recommend that approach?)