Post fieldwork guilt

S

My research focuses on the experiences of a marginalised group. I was really lucky to get help from an organisation to make contact with research participants. I worked as a volunteer with the organisation for two years and got really into it. The were so incredibly helpful and I loved working with them.

Since starting writing up i've just not had the same time available and haven't seen them much. If i'm totally honest I also think I needed to step away for a while because I felt too close to it all. I have explained that I am all tied up wtih writing and teaching but I keep feeling incredibly guilty. I feel like this manipulative faker who pretended to care about their cause, used them to get some research findings and then walked away. I know this is probably quite irrational. I mean it's not like I should be involved every day for the rest of my life but I keep thinking it.

Has anyone else experienced these sorts of feelings after leaving the field?

Yes. A bit of a different situation but one of the groups (8 participants to be exact) from my two groups or sets for case studies, to some extent come under the vulnerable category. They were really keen to participate, and shared very honestly some difficult experiences. I used to work with them supporting them in my previous role at the College where I work. I now have a new role where I have much less to do with this group in the present role (as it should be-too mucky otherwise-in terms of research and power relationships) and have not contacted them since having collected the majority of my data.