Postdoc positions in US

A

Hi,

I'm in my second year of my PhD in Biochemistry and starting to think about what I want to do when I finish. I'd really like to get a postdoc position, and I'd also like to spend some time working in America. Does anyone know if it's possible to get a postdoc position in America with a UK PhD (I know the American PhDs are much longer than the UK ones) and whether the competition is too high to make this likely?

Also, for UK post doc vacancies there are websites like findapostdoc.com and jobs.ac.uk. but these don't really have jobs in the US, does anyone know of any similar websites listing vacancies in the US?

Thanks

J

It's not that easy. As you said, UK PhDs are unfortunately rated as somewhat inferior to their US counterparts due to the shorter lenght of registration and study as well as the lack of taught elements over here. So, finding a Postdoc position is the first hurdle in conditions of fierce competition.

The second problem is immigration, depending on your nationality, it might not be possible at all or only if you are successful in the Greencard lottery.

Overall, chances are slim to make this happen, in my opinion. But I think there are some UK people on this forum who did it, just can't remember the names. A forum search might be helpful or Google.

A

Hi jouri,

Thanks for your reply, I thought that would be the case. I'm British, so I don't know whether that makes any difference to the green card thing? Does anyone know if getting a job means the employer can sponsor the applicant making the immigration less of a problem?

Perhaps it's worth contacting the human resources dept at a uni I'm interested in to see what their policy is.

S

Hi Amy

All is not lost!

Your PhD is as valid in the US as it is here

I got one (in fact I got offered 2 one in Texas and one in Virginia)