pregnancy

R

I am about to start my PhD this October and I have just found out that I am pregnant. I dont know what to do... whether I will be able to combine both or whether I should resign from one. I would appreciate some advice, especially from someone who went through the same situation...

B

Not exactly the same situation, but I've recently found out that I'm pregnant and I'm in my final year of my PhD.
What I did was switch to part-time immediately (at my uni you can't switch from full to part-time during the writing up year). I'm going to get as much work done as I can before the baby arrives, take a year out officially but ease myself back into the PhD after about 9 months.
Is switching to part-time an option for you? Most funding bodies are fine about this if you have funding.

Also you've got to consider things like childcare for when you return. Could you afford a childminder or do you have family close by?
You could postpone for a year, but then there's always the fear that you might find it harder to get back into research and study if you haven't done any for a while. I also found the first year of the PhD by far the hardest as you have the bulk of the research to do and you're trying to scope and define your project which takes a lot of brain power and reflection! In all honesty, probably wouldn't have returned to it if I'd had a baby at any point during that period, obviously everyone is different, but if you can get a good foundation in before you have your baby then it would be making things easier to come back to.

Obviously everyone's experience is different and I hope some of the other parent posters give you their advice too.

Good luck with what you decide!

S

======= Date Modified 10 Sep 2011 15:37:30 =======
Congratulations for the PhD and the pregnancy. I won't give advise just explain what happened to me. BTW, I got my PhD few months  back yet to have the grad ceremony.