Problem with my supervisor on publishing

H

======= Date Modified 11 29 2009 14:29:35 =======
======= Date Modified 11 23 2009 14:23:28 =======
Hi,

I’m a Ph D student (first 6 months) and I’ve been working pretty well with my supervisor and my team group.. up to now.

I’m writing a publication and serious difficulties have started to come out because of incompatibility. I use Latex to write publications and they use Word and EndNote. I can not use them because Latex is far a way better for this purpose than the aforementioned, and it’s free, the others are not. Also, I’m a mac user, they are PC, therefore I use freeware software for plotting, they use Originlab. I tried to convinced them to try what I use, but it was useless.

I was happy with the “think differently” slogan but now I’m worry because paper production efficiency has been slowed down because of this issue. Yesterday I almost cried because I realized that my team and the publications are more important for me than the tools I use, so I'd better speak my team language. But yet I love latex and macs (I hate Word and PCs).

What do you suggest I do? Thanks a lot.
:-(

S

I know you are in your first six months, and I am a haggard old end-of-the-third-year-and-bitter PhD student; but really, if this is the biggest problem you have then I really wouldn't worry. Find another Mac user with Word and borrow it off them (you get three codes).

A

just print it out and give them a hard copy

P

Yes, go down the printed out hard copy route. If that does not work because people want to edit your text in word with track changes, maybe maybe (?) you have to reconsider your tools and use what the others are using.. It can be really annoying when people use different tools, but there are often ways around this... I also know people who swear by latex and they have stuck it for that reason, even if gets a bit more complicated when dealing with non-latex users...

H

I'm with Sleepyhead.