Publishing undergraduate work

B

======= Date Modified 18 Sep 2011 14:20:38 =======
Hello, I was looking for some opinions here from other postdocs. I have a job at a teaching led university that wants to be more research active. They employed me as a research assistant (I am on the brink of submitting my PhD). My brief was to add to the evidence base of the field I work in. However, there seems to be a general belief among staff in the department that I should be taking undergraduate dissertations (maninly students I have never met, supervised, etc) and essays/reports and write them up for publication in peer-reviewed journals. I am unhappy to do this as a) the quality is not very good b) I think it is unethical to put my name on stuff I have had nothing to do with and c) if I don't put my name on I am just a ghost writer (I have not trained as a scientist to end up as a ghost writer of undergrad publications). How common is it for researchers to find themselves in this position?
Thanks,
'Blueberry'!

T

Hi Blueberry, I think you are right to be wary - I have never heard of this happening before. Are others in the department doing the same - or you will be the only one? Maybe it varies by discipline, but I really don't think this is common at all. Would be interesting to hear what others think.

B

======= Date Modified 18 Sep 2011 18:47:36 =======