Questions about contacting potential supervisors

L

======= Date Modified 06 49 2009 12:49:38 =======
Please see below for the very first reply made by myself.

I quoted my original posting there. Sorry for the inconvenience.

L

Quote From lighthouse:

======= Date Modified 06 31 2009 12:31:15 =======

Hello.

I have a BSc in Psychology (2:2(59.83%), 2007) and an MSc in Neuroscience (Pass (53%),2008) and I have recently started considering doing a PhD about paranoia. So, I am thinking of contacting potential supervisors in one institute, but I don't know much about how to do this. So, I would very much appreciate it if someone would answer my questions, which are...

- I haven't done much reading on the topic of my interest. In this case, should I just contact the potential supervisor right away or should I do some reading first? If so, how thorough should it be? Very thorough (e.g. reading all their articles)? Or rarely thorough (e.g.reading only the abstracts of their articles)?

- What is going to happen or what should I do after contacting the potential supervisor? (All I heard is that the potential supervisor will(or might) help me develop a research proposal.)

- Any general advice?

I would be grateful for answers to any of those questions.

B

Hi there,

I'm doing a PhD in Psychology

Well, first question is when would you want to start?

Have you identified potential supervisors already, or potential institutions?

B.xx

L

Thank you for your message, bobby.

I would like to start some time after September this year or early next year.

I also identified 4 potential supervisors at one institution (Institute of Psychiatry).

Thanks.

B

Okay, do you need funding?

L

My father says he will provide it, but I would prefer not to depend on him.

So, I'd like to apply for funding for myself. If I'll have to wait until August next year or even later, I'll be fine with that.

B