Quickest, Shortest PhD online. Please assist.

P

I hold a Bcom(Hons), 2 masters and several researches that are work based. I need a PhD that can be fast and cheap for me. However, accreditated.

C

The PhD is not a degree that is fast or cheap. Anywhere, well - unless you want to buy a 'PhD' online.

P

I dont think its the amount and period that matter. It is the confidence and proof of being an authority in a certain discipline that matter. Cant I get a PhD in 2 years?

C

Look, a three to four year UK PhD just scratches the surface of a tiny area of a discipline. You cannot gain confience and authority in a field in two years, as you suggest. If you're not even willing to sign up for the full duration, why even bother.

Maybe I'm being harsh, but the PhD is a real challenge and requires the full duration, the 'amount and period' do matter. You need those years to build networks in your field, to read and think broadly, and write up. Think about it - a UK undergraduate degree takes 3 years. Do you seriously think you can do a PhD in less?!?

P

Thanks man. However, why dont institutions of learning consider the background of a student. I work in a research environment. My job is to research and I do consulting work where research projects are done. Dont I have the capacity to know my way out easily???

C

Well, surely working on these research projects has grounded in you a sense of what is possible in certain time frames?

Okay, so you have research experience, and that will obviously help you. But have you had to work alone to produce 80,000 words before, that are original, peer-reviewed? Whilst attending conferences, and trying to publish? I'm sure you are a capable researcher, but the PhD is a specific piece of research, with specific requirements.

G

Its 3 years (the minimum registration period). Hobson's choice.

C