Quitting during 2nd year? (UK)

Hi all
I am seeking advice about my PhD. I have a bachelors and MA already. I'm in the second year of my PhD and I have hated it really since the beginning, I have found the whole thing a struggle. I have no idea how I passed my upgrade panel last summer. It is affecting my MH quite a lot - currently at the stage where I'm crying most days and even the thought of it is making me feel sick. I haven't started my empirical work yet but my first chapter was meant to be finished in December and so far I have hardly anything. I don't have much experience in the theoretical side of what I'm doing and have zero in empirical stuff as my first two degrees didn't have empirical research at all (law). I feel like I have the wrong background for this course and can't see myself completing it. I don't really like my supervisors much or feel we get on, they have been relatively kind about this writing block so far but they are starting to get fed up now. I also live 2 hours away from my uni so that makes things harder.

Any advice? Im in the UK so only have about 18 months left, I can't get a masters and leave as my dept doesn't do it, and I already have an MA anyway. I'm fully funded and would feel so guilty giving up this opportunity but it's just not getting any better and I'm really at a loose end right now.

Take a holiday, even if it is a long weekend and go somewhere away from uni. Take it is a complete break from uni and try to stop yourself thinking about your PhD at all. When you come back you will know if you really want to quit. As a lot of PhD students (in my opinion) get too caught up in the PhD and forget that it is just a qualification. A short break may help you clear away the insecurities and burnout.

Also, you owe your supervisors nothing and should not be guilty. Put yourself first, as no-one else will.

T

2ndyearphd,

You mentioned that

- you have hated it really since the beginning