Quitting PhD - Decided but scared

J

I've been looking at some of the previous posts from people who quit or are thinking of quitting, and I guess I would just like to vent and get some comments on my own situation.

I'm in my 2nd year. The first year had loads of setbacks and the project now looks nothing like the original plan. A few months ago I decided to quit because I felt I couldn't cope with all the problems as well as having to live away from my partner during the week. I'm not a quitter by nature, and have previously done very well academically so it was a very difficult decision to go to my supervisor and say I wanted to quit.

My supervisor was very understanding about this and gave me the option to move away to live with my
partner as I had already done a lot of practical work and can now write it up at home. This was great as I didnt want the first year of work to go to waste, and hopefully it will be a useful piece of research. I ended up saying I would continue with the PhD as it was a relief that my supervisor was so understanding and I was basically scared to make the final jump once there was some kind of lifeline given, even though I'd originally decided I would quit. However, the remainder of the project is something that I really am not interested in and was originally going to be a minor part but is now going to be pretty much the remainder of the project.

I am not motivated by the prospect of being a 'Dr' and have no desire to work in academia, so my current reasons for not quitting are: it would cause hassle for people who have been really helpful to me, and cause disappointment for me and people who had faith in me, given the current economic climate it might be better to stay with the small amount of funding rather than risk no work at all, I'm afraid I'll be making a decision I'll regret.