quitting phd

L

I'm a fresh phd student at ulb (bruxelles) in the field of robotics. Even though I have started recently, I have been hating it (namely the town, the people in the lab, especially my supervisor and so on) ever since and I am seriously considering to quit it within the end of the year. In that case, what should I do to quit?
Moreover, I also have a EU-studentship. Then, if I give up, should I give back all of the money that I have earned so far or not?
Thank you for your kind attention and my best regards,

Jason.

E

You don't normally have to give back the money... as far as I'm aware. And quitting it shouldn't be too difficult. But if you're having problems, I think you should either tell your supervisor (nicely and subtly) about your problems or find out who else you can talk to- there's sure to be someone or some office you can go to for advice.

S

If you find PhD is not for you, then it's best you make a decision in the early stage possible. However, if the reasons for your quitting is external environment, then I would agree with Escoppycoppy to talk to someone before you make this decision. After all,you must have done a lot of work to have a PhD studentship with a funding. Sorry,you didn't ask for advice on whether to quit or not, just thought it's worth sharing the thoughts.

As for the money, I would imagine you will be required to give a report to explain things. I don't think you would be asked to give money back though.

L

Thank you very much for your answers, my studentship comes from erc and it is 19k per year. I know it is a good studentship, but I am getting more and more aware that this place it's not for me. The only idea to come to work in university every day makes me depressed. I would avoid to talk directly to the supervisor, I don't feel comfortable at all with him and it seems pretty unpredictable what he may be going to say! Maybe I should look around for an office where I may ask for more information...