Rant Data Analysis

A

So I've been doing a kind of 'post doc' if you will post PhD. It's not a post doc 100%, I'm a research officer on a large project that I'm basically managing myself involving a range of data sets, including qualitative interviews.

My frustration, is that for a few months now, I have been repeatedly saying I am struggling with analysis because I don't know what the CIs really 'want' and the analysis I am doing they don't like. They don't want thematic, they want discursive (that's fine!), they want case summaries before coding, also fine. When I first presented case summaries, they told me they were too detailed and I was taking too long, so told me to just summarise the interview, point to line numbers so they can compare, and then write some thoughts/questions at the end, which I've done, not amounting to more than 3 pages per interview.

But now, that's not enough, and they want the case summaries to be data analysis, linking to other case summaries, and presented thematically but still analysed discursively, or 'layered' as they call it. They want analysis within the case summaries, which I was doing before, which they told me not to do.

I asked for some examples I could look to, as I do well learning from examples, but they got annoyed and couldn't offer me any.

But the worst is I feel like they are wanting me to interpret the data the way they are interpreting it (despite them having only read 1-3 interviews of a 30 set), and get annoyed when I don't pick up something one of them has picked up as interesting, and yet simultaneously, tell me to analyse how I see it, that it's all subjective and that together we'll be able to pick up all sorts of different things.

I'm starting to lose my mind over the inconsistency, and am definitely beginning to feel incredibly inadequate with my analysis skills.

Anyways, thanks for reading, just feeling really down and frustrated at the moment.

C