Reading papers - the cost

P

I completed my first degree (BSc (Hons) Software Engineering 1st Class) in the UK.

I considered going on to take a PhD but brining up a family and family health issues prevented me, so I spent 9 years in industry and now find myself reconsidering this option.

After one disastrous PhD Research Studentship interview I now get the impression I should be much better read, ALREADY. However I have no income 'at present' and am not a student or connected to a University.

Finding my way around the range of professional bodies of which you can be a member or web databases that provide access to journals and the range of journals available, I am beginning to get the impression this could be very expensive.

How many journals ought one to subscribe to? Is there a way to reduce the cost, or is this just a fact of life? Seems you can buy individual papers, but this looks like it may be more expensive. Some annual subscription descriptions seem (to me at least) ambiguous, e.g. am I just paying for a bi monthly paper journal or absolutely everything in the digital library as a one off payment? etc...

In case it is relevant, my field is Software Engineering.

E

Have you spoken to the librarian at your last university to see what options are available to you? As an alumni student you would still get access to reading materials. I use my ex uni library and it only costs £10 for 5 years (think it is 5 years).  Anyway it's cheap.

Just give them a call (try and speak to the subject librarian in your field) and see what they can do/suggest for you before forking out money is the best I can suggest.

P

Quote From Ergogirly:

Have you spoken to the librarian at your last university to see what options are available to you?  As an alumni student you would still get access to reading materials. I use my ex uni library and it only costs £10 for 5 years (think it is 5 years).  Anyway it's cheap.