really disheartened

N

Basically my thread title says it all. Apologies for the length of this post which carries on below.

I am a funded PhD student in English literature who is ready to quit, not because I want too but because I feel like I have no choice. I started off loving my PhD as I really love my research. My issues hinge around my supervision. Basically I did my undergrad and masters with the same supervisor. I had a second supervisor but she was never involved and showed little interest.

I was told in January this year that my supervisor would be retiring and I would get two new sups, however come April, not much happened. Also my supervisor never told me any of this, others did, as he clearly could not be bothered. Anyway it turns out he wanted to carry on with me as his doctoral student, and he was given permission. By this point worries had really set in, as I was told by a number of people, including two of his final year PhD's that he was a really bad supervisor. One student actually told me they got major corrections in their viva on issues that his supervisor should have picked up on from the start, such as the thesis covering much too long a period. I was then told, again not by him, that as he had retired he could no longer be my first supervisor and instead had to become my second. So, a new supervisor was appointed at the start of summer. I sent her all of my current chapters, and she came back with a LOT of issues, largely the structure. Apparently my original supervisor was guiding me badly and there is major changes that need done. This would be fine, but as of yet I still haven't had a meeting with my new supervisor as she is always away. So, I have no idea what changes I need to do and cant touch my thesis as the structure is bad and I don't know what she wants.

(contd. below)

N