Referances

D

Hi i have a few questsions.

Why do I have to submit 2 referance forms at the same time as my CV? What if my application is weak then pestering my refarees wouldnt have been needed. I would have thought it would make more sence to apply then the university says x CV is good so requests referances then good referances would get interviews.

It feels like I am pestering my referances every time I apply to a PhD. How many universitys is normal to apply to?

Also what do you do if you only have 1 good refaree. I have my MSc supervisor and a lecturer that I dont think remembers me (not even sure if he sent off the one i gave him). I had a tendancy to keep myself to myself so I dont really have another contact.

I don't know why many universities insist in having two written references included in applications, rather than just taking up references contact details. The way it is done now makes applications so much more difficult but that is just the way it is!

I made four aapplications which I think is a reasonable number - any more and I think my referees might have started to get annoyed.

If you only have one referee that is obviously a problem. Ask other lecturers/tutors, I have found that they are generally helpful and if they really feel that they don't know you well enough to provide a reference they will just say so. If you really only have one reference from universiy could you not use a reference from a job you have done in the past? Or an undergraduate lecturer/tutor. I have used undergraduate lecturers as referees and it hasn't caused a problem in terms of getting interviews/being accepted for PhDs.

Good luck with the applications!

D