Rental problems

S

Hey everyone,
I'm currently trying to rent an apartment with my bf. I agreed to be the main tenant as he is only on a temporary contract with his employers, thinking that my stipend of 1250 pcm was easily enough to cover the cost. However, I've come up with difficulty now, as on the agreement forms they ask for gross salary, which obviously as a PhD student I don't get, so I put a note on saying I don't pay tax, NI etc etc, and what my net amount was per month. Now though, they've turned around and said that because I don't officially earn 17400 gross a year I can't have the property!
Has anyone else had this problem with trying to rent as a PhD student?

P

Is there any way that you can either (a) ask someone to guarantor the rental or (b) pay a proportion of the rent up front? We've had this problem too (though the imbecilic letting agents didn't tell us until two days before we were supposed to move in!) and there is usually a way around it.....
Sx

H

Agreed; providing that you can prove sufficient income to cover the costs of the rental agreement there should not be any issues. Technically speaking your stipend is your salary so there are ways and means of working round it. Get the Estate agen to do it, that's what you pay them for. :-)

B

Starshine - get a letter of recommendation from your supervisor, admin and accounts office saying you are on the books and that the stipend will cover the time period. Works fine here.

S