research assistant

F

Please, I will appreciate if anyone could help me with information regarding getting a research assistant post. I just graduated with MSc public health, I intend to pursue a phd but at the moment I will like to get a research assistant post in any health related area with exception to laboratory sciences to enable me gain experience. Thanks.:-)

T

Hi Franky, I read your post and it reminded me of my situation a few years ago. I did an MSc in Epidemiology and wanted to work as a research assistant before deciding whether or not to do a PhD. I graduated from my MSc at the end of 2004 and after many applications, I finally had two interviews and was offered both positions. So my first piece of advice would be not to get disheartened - don't give up!

Research assistant positions are highly competitive (where I work now it is not unusual for a research assistant vacancy to attract 80+ applicants whereas most postdoc positions are no where near that number). Several of the people who have been successful in my institute at getting RA positions, and PhDs too, have previously worked as temporary staff (employed via a temping agency) in the institute or have been fieldworkers on one of our studies - we frequently employ relatively large numbers of people for this kind of work. So if you live somewhere with a public health/epidemiology department it is worth contacting them to ask if they have any studies which they'll need fieldworkers for coming up, or if they use a particular temp agency to employ staff. Doing this kind of temp work gives you invaluable experience of research, shows a commitment to the subject area, and can give you the opportunity to make contacts. Volunteering in an area you are interested in can also be valuable experience.