Research grants - how does it all work

T

Hi all

I'm in my final year and will probably look to start a postdoc after submitting my thesis. However, I have been asked to collaborate by someone overseas once I finish my PhD - this collaboration would involve analysing already collected data and writing a joint publication (or publications) based on it. My question is - do you just do this sort of thing alongside whatever else you are doing (e.g., looking for postdoc, working as an RA...) or is this something that you should try and get funding (to support yourself whilst carrying it out).

I am not sure if I have explained what I'm asking very well...

I guess the bottom line is - this person has mentioned collaborating and we have a proposed idea of several research questions we want to address (not yet written up as a formal proposal). But I am wondering do I just do this off my own back or can I be supported financially?

I have an understanding of how grants normally work - you apply for funding to carry out your research. Is this essentially the same thing and I should be applying for funding from a relevant research body? Can you even apply for a grant if you aren't attached to a University at the time? Feeling very ignorant about all this.

Cheers
Tudor

F

Hi Tudor Queen

As it happens, I've just spent all day in a training session about making successful grant applications and a similar situation was discussed.

From what I can gather, if your collaborator puts a grant application together to a relevant funding body, they can specify in the grant that they want you specifically as a post-doc. So if your collaborator is in a uni, they would be best heading up the proposal, with you as part of it. Part of the grant costs would therefore be a salary for you, for however long it would take.