Sample Collection

A

Hi everyone,
I am a PhD student.
I have been collecting samples for 1 year and a month. My sample size calculation is 20. I have collected more than 20 samples so far. I am wondering whether my sample size will be enough or not. Should I continue my samples collection or just stop at this time? I have lots more works to do in the lab to fulfill my other objectives.

Thanks in advance.

A

anyone???

C

You haven't said what your subject area is, what kind of experiment you are doing or what kind of sample you mean - perhaps with a bit more information, someone might be able to comment. If you did a reliable calculation that said you need 20 samples and you've exceeded that number, it sounds like you've done what you set out to do, but since you're doubting it, perhaps it is best to check with your supervisor?

A

Quote From chickpea:
You haven't said what your subject area is, what kind of experiment you are doing or what kind of sample you mean - perhaps with a bit more information, someone might be able to comment. If you did a reliable calculation that said you need 20 samples and you've exceeded that number, it sounds like you've done what you set out to do, but since you're doubting it, perhaps it is best to check with your supervisor?

I am doing a research on cancer. However it is very hard to get the samples for my research. Usually the samples will only be available once in a month if I was lucky. My research is mostly on microarray. I have already talked to the statistician and he said for my research, there is no sample size calculation. The only thing I have to do is to collect all samples available in one year to be included in my study.

I have talked to my supervisor but then he wanted to have more. Should I continue to collect more or try to convince him that my sample collection is enough?

C