second phd

A

Dear all, I'm a phd student in Italy; and next month I will finish 3 years phd with 2 publications....I'm very confused what to do in my future; I really want do reasearch! but outside Italy..the problem is that I do not feel ready and I'm thinking of applying for a PhD abroad .. what chances I have?
thanks for help!

T

I think you will find it difficult to get another PhD when you already have one. Why not apply for a postdoc? IT will be pretty similar to a PhD I think

S

If you have the money to fund the entire PhD yourself then you will probably manage it. If you want some form of funding, then I'm afraid you've got no chance. It would be very hard to justify why you want to do another PhD instead of doing a postdoc, and as competition is fierce already then I would imagine universities would much rather take on a 'new' PhD student rather than someone who already has one.
Why do you think you need another PhD rather than starting a postdoc? You say you're 'not ready', but if you have a PhD already then working as a postdoc is pretty similar. The only real difference is that you're expected to work independently and you don't have to write a thesis at the end of it!

A

thanks for the answers!I spend my phd almost indipendently...and this is the first reason because I feel non "ready" for a foreign post.Doc..second problem is the numeber of publications..I think that 2 (1 in submission) is not a good results for foreign competition...I know that the majority of phd out of Italy last 4 or more that 4 years and students have to publish at least 2 paper...tanks for answers!

A second PhD is not a good idea for a few reasons.

1) Funding is unlikely for a second PhD, however, I'll admit you may find it easier obtaining funding if the second PhD is in another country.
2) The 'perpetual student' or 'overqualified' tag will reduce your employability. This will apply more to non-academic jobs admittedly, but even academia will question this.