Second thoughts about starting PhD

T

I am about to start a PhD at the same place I did my undergrad, with the same supervisor. I graduated a year ago and have been working as a Research Assistant for a year, and I had previously been trying to get a PhD at the University of Cambridge. I was accepted to Cam but couldn't get funding. I spent almost a year trying to get that PhD place so I was pretty cast down when I couldn't go.

Soon after I found out that Cam was a no-go, my undergrad supervisor (who had been pressuring me to do a PhD with her since I graduated) offered to let me start my own project with her. This appealed to me because I thought I could choose something similar to what I had wanted to study at Cam. I was also exhausted from trying so hard to get a funded PhD and this was just handed to me on a platter. I spoke to a few people about it, and organised a co-supervisor and advisory committee. I was awarded a scholarship soon after, and planned to start in March.

I still have not officially started my PhD, and my application to be enrolled hasn't been lodged with the University. My problem now is that as March has gotten closer and closer, I've started to seriously backpedal about doing this PhD. I still haven't figured out my topic, and to be honest, my motivation to do so is non-existent.

For months I've been suppressing apprehension about this because it honestly is a good opportunity. Who else gets total freedom on their PhD project? I like my supervisor, I like the University, and I'm comfortable here.

But every time I try to sit down and actually try to plan, I freak out and get anxious because I think the truth is that I don't want to do this. I think I like the idea of it more than I like actually doing it.