Secured funding for PhD

M

Hi guys. I am off for an informal chat in about two week's time to discuss my PhD. I am basically an overseas student and have 2i in my undergraduate degree from a UK university and currently doing my MSc here in the UK.
I have secured funding from my employer, which includes fee and maintenance for three years. In addition, my other employer is willing to sponsor me for 6 years but their requirement is me having a PhD and the educational fund organisation in my country have also agreed to fund me and their requirement is me accepted by a higher educational institute.
I am very interested in subject delivered by the institution and what do you guys think my chances are and under what circumstances can supervisors reject me? And should I tell them that I have funding for other projects after I finish my PhD?

Thanks

S

I'm sure most places will take you if you have all the cash to give them - I would just be careful to make sure the supervisor is interested in the work you want to do - and not just your cash

Finding a good interested supervisor will vastly affect your ability to produce a quality PhD.

I'm not clear on if you have already got a research proposal but would suggest you make sure you get a realistic research proposal outline with acheivable goals agreed between you and any potential supervisors before agreeing to start with them - without this it could end up very misdirected.

There are unfortunately supervisors out there (not just in the UK) who will gladly take your money in exchange for you using their workspace but then not contribute to your success.

Good luck

s

N