Seeking tips on handling supervisors' feedback

L

I'm in my final year of my PhD - so have written about a third of thesis, but I think I've reached my limit of negative feedback. I've just had a meeting today with my supervisors to get their feedback on two chapters that I slogged it out for weeks staying up to midnight each night (and I've got 3 young children) - and all they talk about was the faults. And some of their comments or suggestions - I am actually offended that they think I am so stupid to not know. Their capacity to offer positive feedback has dropped off in the last few months - which is devastating as I near the end (hopefully) so one would think their should be more to praise.
I suffer from depression - so I desperately need tools to resist digesting their comments as personal attacks.
Whatever happened to the 'sandwich' approach to feedback (positive-constructive-positive)? - why does it drop off at graduate level? I know that when I am a qualified to supervise grad students - I will make sure I will always identify the positive features. Because we are still humans with feelings!
Any tips you are willing to share would be welcome.
Thanks
Louise

P

======= Date Modified 08 Dec 2008 12:10:52 =======
Hi Louiese,

I am sorry to hear you are feeling so low, and naturally, anyone would with all this. Yes, sometimes, people are just either to brazen to be called 'human' and sometimes, well, they just refuse to realise that with all our faults we are grad students, not professors with 20 years experience. This IS, our first piece of research, not our last.