Self-proposed topic

K

Hello everyone, now please be gentle!

I am in my final year of a BSc Aerospace Technology & Management degree. I am also a type 1 diabetic and also a recreational pilot with the ambition to become a professional pilot at somepoint when regulations allow (currently prevented by a blanket ban). I love academia and I am very passionate about aviation, flying and even diabetes/medicine.

I really want to channel these passions and self motivations towards obtaining a PhD in a topic based around diabetes/aviation human factors, this would also provide hardcore evidence to the regulators I wish to challenge the blanket ban system against as well as providing me with more professional recognition on the subject I would have studied.

I feel there could be a big scope to this project and I need some advice/help how I go about taking it from an idea in my head to an application and position at a univeristy in the near future.

I await your replies! :-)

Karl

K

56 viewings and not 1 reply... =(

B

It's an incredibly specific topic: you've probably stunned us into silence!

Seriously though, if you're doing an aerospace degree you should have local contacts at your university who could start pointing you in the right direction, towards potential supervisors. You'd probably need a supervisor from the aviation side, and another from the medical side.

University staff should also be able to advise you on the chances of getting funding, and where to look.

Good luck!

K

Haha, is it rare for a student to have pinpointed a subject area/topic before even starting?

I cant really ask my university as I do not want to continue there, I would like to go somewhere else but having emailed nottingham and cranfield I still havent heard back!! :-(

thnanks for your reply! (up)

C