Set-backs

Z

How do you guys deal with set-backs or problems?

Recently I've been working on some aspects of my project that I thought would be possible to do, but I keep getting setbacks including data not working, then getting data working but unexpected results (that are obviously wrong) and now discovering that it's not going to be possible to do what I wanted to do with the model/tools I've been using.

It's been setback after setback, after each one been trying to understand why it didn't work and then attempting to fix, which I felt okay about because progress was being made. Now I realise that I can't do what I wanted to do and so I've lost a week's work and no real workaround to fix it this time. Sadly, I don't think my work on the issues and resolving them is going to contribute to my thesis, so it's just a avenue I tried to investigate which was fruitless.

I've been through problems like this before and recovered, but now I'm in 3rd year and can't afford to lose time at this stage and just want things to work and some useful research to get done.

Z

Does everyone else just forget about it and move on?

I know research is (a lot of the time) about trying things which don't work and not giving up, but sometimes it's difficult to carry on trying!

S

I was being told from day 1 that it's unreasonable to expect research to go 'according to plan' so I just see setbacks as part of the process. There are things that we can't change but we can learn from them. Personally, I focused on the finishing line and how I can reach it so, for me, it was just a case of 'ok, this isn't working, so what do I need to do to reach point B?'

I don't know your area of work but I believe that we learn all the time and you've learned that the models/tools you've been using don't work. Admittedly, it'd have been much easier if they did, but this is still part of the research process. We're not just trying to find out what works, we need to know what doesn't work as well.