Shall I do a MSc(conv) Computing? (Have a PhD in Chemistry and some postdoc experience)

S

Hello everyone, I would like your comments and any advice you can offer me. I am 38 years old, and I am a research chemist (BSc, MPhil and PhD) from UK. I am unemployed at the moment, been working on my research without funding for 5 months now (I am not in the UK at the moment). I recently finished my post-doctoral project (about a year). Before I went to uni, I worked in the chemical industry for five years. I really enjoy doing research but I feel a bit limited in the chemical industrial roles. My PhD speciality is very niche, only a few universities in the world would be interested in my work. I am not against working in the chemical industry but I have grown tired of laboratory-based roles, its different in a university environment (particularly when its my own project). I am submitting a funding proposal for my own project in EU (not UK). However, I am aware that it might not work out given the cuts in research in EU. I have grown to enjoy the computational aspects of my research over the years, and I have been thinking about doing a MSc(conv) course in Applied Computing in September. I must point out that I don't feel that I should apply for permanent or long-term positions until I know the outcome of my research proposal in May/July. Has anyone been in a similar situation? Would doing a MSc conversion course in computing help me move into other scientific roles with heavier emphasis on computational analysis and maybe application development? Any advice would be appreciated. Many thanks!!:-)